Poetry: Standing Still Through Summer

Believe me now my friends,
though not a tear was shed
parting was a sorrow
a wilted flower
falling fast
though standing still
under the gentle warmth of summer.

Though the sun was bright above
The winds blew harsh and
the rain was undecided.
Belongings a heavy weight upon myself.
The throngs of bodies
swarmed the streets
Flies upon the carrion of a holiday.

Well, my friends
it is not goodbye but
believe me when I say that
the journey home is long.
Keep yourselves safe and strong.
Summer blazes on
And we’ll be together soon.

(Copyright: Chanel Martin Ramirez, 06/06/2015. All rights reserved)

Leave a Reply

